Regional nature park
Corbières - Fenouillèdes

What if, tomorrow, you went on vacation in the Corbières-Fenouillèdes, like we go to the Camargue or the Cevennes? 
The latest regional nature park straddles the departments of Aude and Pyrénées-Orientales.

New Park in Occitania

Named Corbières-Fenouillèdes, the new Regional Nature Park of Occitania covers 1,800 km² and includes 99 municipalities in the Aude and Catalonia regions. It joins the 56 regional nature parks that already exist in France.

In the whole of the Pyrenees, the Corbières and Fenouillèdes form a singular territory. This rural territory is an advanced bastion of the eastern Pyrenees which extends northwards towards the southern foothills of the Massif Central. Its history, its exceptional geology, its surprising landscapes, and its economic maintenance, constitute strong and federating elements.

The Park's assets

The Corbières-Fenouillèdes Regional Nature Park has many assets. In particular, the fact that it is spread over "a very rural and sparsely populated area", thus offering large and beautiful landscapes and "an important cultural heritage".

The Park reveals an exceptional wealth of birds, especially birds of prey, as well as a rare flora. This is due to the diversity of the climate, specific to this territory. On the one hand, there is an arid Mediterranean zone and on the other, areas of high humid valleys.
Within the perimeter of the Park, five sites are in the process of being labelled by UNESCO, including the Cathar castles in the Corbières. Fenouillèdes, a land of mystery and adventure, contains prehistoric treasures, evidence of a very ancient occupation of the territory, such as the traces of the presence of Neanderthal man.

Parc naturel régional
Corbières - Fenouillèdes

Et si, demain, vous partiez en vacances dans les Corbières-Fenouillèdes, comme on part en Camargue ou dans les Cévennes ?
Le dernier-né des Parcs naturels régionaux se situe à cheval sur les départements de l’Aude et des Pyrénées-Orientales.

Nouveau Parc en Occitanie

Baptisé Corbières-Fenouillèdes, le nouveau Parc naturel régional d’Occitanie s’étend sur 1 800 km² et compte 99 communes audoises et catalanes. Il se joint aux 56 Parcs naturels régionaux qui existent déjà en France.

Dans l’ensemble des Pyrénées, les Corbières et le Fenouillèdes forment un territoire singulier. Ce territoire rural est un bastion avancé de l’est des Pyrénées qui s’étend vers le Nord, en direction des contreforts sud du Massif Central. Son histoire, sa géologie exceptionnelle, ses paysages surprenants, et son maintien économique, constituent des éléments forts et fédérateurs.

Les atouts du Parc

Des atouts, le Parc naturel régional Corbières-Fenouillèdes en possède beaucoup. Notamment le fait qu’il se déploie sur « une zone très rurale et très peu peuplée », offrant ainsi de grands et beaux paysages et « un important patrimoine culturel ».

Le Parc dévoile une richesse exceptionnelle d’oiseaux, notamment de rapaces ainsi qu’une flore rare. Cela est dû à la diversité du climat, propre à ce territoire. D’un côté, il y a une zone aride méditerranéenne et d’un autre des zones de hautes vallées humides.
Dans le périmètre du Parc, cinq sites sont en cours de labellisation auprès de l’UNESCO, et entre autres les châteaux cathares dans les Corbières. Le Fenouillèdes, pays de mystères et d’aventures, recèle des trésors préhistoriques, preuves d’une occupation très ancienne du territoire comme les traces de présence de l’homme de Néandertal.